Exploring Toronto

Big cities are fascinating.

I’ve mentioned my (one-sided, unrequited) love affair with Montreal numerous times here, but I’m originally, perpetually, proudly, a country girl. I’ve lived in Austin for 4 years now, and while I’ve adjusted well and have learned to love the convenience of being so close to everything, going home to my parent’s house always feels like a breath of fresh air (literally and figuratively). I hope I don’t ever lose that.

But the hustle! And bustle! And language! And style! And districts! Big cities are fascinating.

Toronto is the biggest city in Canada, with just over 5.5 million people in it. While Montreal (which is significantly smaller) has a more cohesive (and French) feel to it, Toronto is like one big mosaic of time and culture. Let me explain.

This is the old City Hall:

Oh, wow, that’s a badly taken photo! What’s that shadow there? Surely the silly photographer could have taken that distracting feature out of the photo by shooting from a different angle!

Nope. That shadow is the new City Hall.

It’s very modern.

Toronto features the Bixi system that Montreal has, but it’s not a widespread (that I’ve seen)…but that’s ok, because they commissioned Spiderman to help out their public transit system.

Oh wait. Those are just lines for streetcars.

Toronto also has an underground metro, but most people hate it for reasons I can’t really fathom.

Final walking tour feature: while on a 3-hour walk that covered half of downtown (give or take a few blocks), Dana and I saw a stage being built. Dana informed me that the stage was for the MuchMusic Awards, which I shrugged at, until I saw the poster featuring LMFAO, and then I just wanted to shuffle.

I really shouldn’t have shrugged. The MuchMusic awards are like the MTV music awards, and there are many super-important celebrities (like Mr. & Mr. Shuffle themselves) who will be converging on Toronto just in time for Father’s Day. Here’s to hoping they bring their dads!

Categories: Travels | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

