We survived!

The canoe didn’t tip, and the adventure was leech-free, and I only acted like a total fool once (special thanks to my camp-mates for the times when I acted like a partial fool)–and so I’m willing to call the trip a brilliant success.

I’m writing this from Burlington, Ontario, which is close to Hamilton, Ontario, which is close to Niagara, and not close to Killarney, which is where Dana, Dana’s dad, Dana’s stepmom and I have been canoe camping for the last 5 days. We covered roughly 10 km by land, and paddled on almost a dozen lakes. I’ll post more details (and pictures!) in the coming days, but I’m off now to camp in Niagara, and then stay in Toronto. Here are some highlights to look forward to:

  • That time when we were feeding turtles, only to find that food was not at all what they were interested in
  • That time I found a frog and was super-happy it wasn’t a spider
  • That time we went to that beautiful place on that super-hot day
  • That time when Dana stole the camera
  • That time when we got caught in a freak windstorm and thought we were going to drown (we didn’t), but instead found the prettiest campsite ever
  • That time when that puppy tried to get in the canoe with me and then ate my sock

Unfortunately, some of these highlights are sans-pictures, because I was busy living life when I obviously should have been recording it. I’ll tell you all about it when I’m done appreciating modern amenities (like already-drinkable water, and microwaves!).

Until then,

Shauna

Categories: Travels | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.