By the fire…

Well, Dana and I made the trek (read: bus ride, on a very empty, very luxury greyhound) from Montreal to Ottawa today. The trip took most of the day (travel is so much longer when one relies on public transport!), but there was a huge reward at the end.

And the reward looked like that.

Today was Dana’s stepmom’s birthday, and his Dad made chocolate cake to celebrate. We were greeted at The Chelsea House (TCH) with excellent dinner, excellent company, and excellent dessert. We’ll be here for a few weeks, before heading back to Montreal to dive back into school (Dana) and research (me). Until then, our days will be spent baking and relaxing and spending time with family/friends.

I’m writing this by the fire (relaxing, as mentioned above), and it’s feeling a bit hard this evening–I do miss Texas, and family, and all the holiday traditions I’ve come to (subconsciously) expect and love over the years. I like where I’m at, but I’m excited for a year from now, when I can enjoy holidays at home again.

Categories: Travels | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

